top of page

The Structure of an Argumentative Essay

An argumentative essay isn’t a new term for college students as they are required to write these types of essays as a part of their course requirements. As evident from the name, writing an argumentative essay entails defending one’s claim/ stance on some topic/ issue. It would help if you remembered that expository and argumentative essays sound pretty much the same but are two different genres.






I will explain how the two are different, but first, let us talk about how an argumentative essay is structured. The structure of an argumentative essay is pretty basic; usually, every essay follows this structure.


Before we begin, I want to tell you all that essay writing isn’t as scary as students make it out to be. As a high school student, I struggled with writing essays, and would often look for people to write my paper for me. Because essay writing and doing analyses or critical evaluations were not easy tasks, and to me, they felt enormous because of the amount of effort they required.


With that little story aside, let’s dig into the structure of the argumentative essay. It is not as complex as it appears; we must remember a few things that I will describe below. But in case you have a busy schedule and are short on time, you can rely on an essay writer free service provider to meet the deadline quickly. Or you can stay on this blog to learn more about argumentative essays.


The structure is simple: an introduction, body paragraphs, and conclusion. See, it’s pretty similar to other essay structures but has different sub-components. First comes the introduction section. I’m sure most of you know that the introduction to any essay begins with a hook and it is no different for an argumentative essay. Now you’d be wondering whether this “hook” is the same as Captain Hook’s hook from Peter Pan. Well, let me put your mind at ease! It is definitely not! A hook is just a catchy sentence at the beginning of the introduction to lure the readers into reading the essay.


The next step is adding background information so readers know what to expect. After the background information has been added, you have to write a thesis statement. I always thought if someone could write my essay for me, that would make my job easier, but eventually, I learned that I should practice myself, so I do not have to depend on others. So, now here I am guiding you all on how to structure an argumentative essay.


Now I know writing a thesis statement is tricky but you don’t have to worry because we are here to help. A thesis statement must include three claims you must make to defend your argument. If you think it’s still tricky, hire a paper writing service to have a strong and effective thesis statement for your paper. Why fret over stuff when it can be done this way and quite quickly, too?


Alright, let’s talk about body paragraphs. Body paragraphs are where you defend your thesis/stance by providing supporting arguments. Each body paragraph begins with a topic sentence that corresponds with the thesis statement. Then this topic sentence is followed by supporting points. I always had a problem with writing and organizing this part. Sometimes, I would imagine seeking help from an essay writing service but I would find it difficult to navigate through these websites so I would just check samples online to get a better idea of organization in the body paragraphs.


I hope you are aware when I say arguments because sometimes, students get confused and write an expository essay. As I have mentioned earlier, they both are pretty different things. Here you have to argue that your idea is better than the rest as you also have to prove that with evidence.


Remember! Never give your opinion in the argumentative essay because it is not needed. Additionally, you have to use peer-reviewed scholarly sources to defend your arguments. Moreover, not only do you have to mention the opposing argument but also offer a rebuttal which means you will have to explain what opponents are saying and then explain what you think about the opponents’ claim.


Lastly, you must write a separate conclusive paragraph to end your essay. Remember to restate the thesis and main points of your essay.


A pro tip: Always end the essay with a conclusion, even if it’s short. I have seen people hiring cheap paper writing service that produces low-quality work with no conclusion, so the ending is a must.


The tips we have provided will help you guys.


Happy writing.


More Resources:

bottom of page